top of page

Level 5 Leaders

Jim Collin's Level 5 Leaders posses the very best leadership qualities. Level 5 Leaders are ambitious and who builds greatness through humility and will. What sets Level 5 Leaders apart from Level 4 leaders is that Level 4 Leaders set up their successors for failure.

When I think of the dif

ference of a Level 4 Leader and Level 5 Leader, along with Collin's comparison, I also would believe that Level 4 leaders don't practice humility and are probably not humble people. They probably are in it to make to to the top and will claw their way no matter how many people get hurt in the process. I can think of a handful of managers that I previously had that were similar to what Collin was describing. I knew from the begining that this was not the type of manager I wanted to be.

As a quick exercise I do at the beginning of my shift, I write down three categories of things I need to work on; one would be for employees, one for upper management, and one for guests. I then write three more things in each category to be completed by the end of my day. At the end of each shift, I look at the things I completed (normally more than half of the tasks) and I critique each one, "what I could've done differently, what were some things that were successful". I do this, so I can be aware of some developmental opportunities for myself.


© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page